2011 City Council Race Gets Underway


The filing deadline for City Council was Tuesday, February 15, 2011 at 4:30 p.m. The City of Milford has confirmed the names of individuals running for the four wards for the upcoming election held Saturday, April 16, 12:00pm-8:00pm at the Milford Middle School.

Ward 1 will be a contested race between current Councilman Steve Johnson and former Councilman Michael Spillane.  Ward 2 will be a contested race between Gary Downes and Dirk Gleysteen. Councilman Jason Adkins held this seat for the past two years and has decided not to run for reelection. Doug Morrow will be running uncontested in Ward 3 and James Starling will be running uncontested in Ward 4.

The deadline to register to vote for the 2011 City Council elections is Thursday, March 17, 2011 at 4:30pm. Only registered voters on the City of Milford voter registration logs are eligible to vote in the upcoming election. Having registered to vote through the State of Delaware, Kent County or Sussex County Department of Elections does not qualify individuals to vote in City of Milford Elections.

Registration is accepted Monday through Friday at City Hall between 8:00am and 4:00pm. Special voter registration times are scheduled at City Hall on Thursday, February 24, 4:30pm to 8:00pm, and Saturday, March 12, 10:00am to 2:00pm.

City hall is located at 201 S. Walnut Street, Milford, DE. Individuals voting by absentee ballot should call the City Clerk’s Office at 302-424-3712, Extension 303 to be added to a list to obtain an affidavit for absentee balloting.

To find out what Ward you reside in please view the attached map of the City of Milford or call 302-424-3712 for more information.

Milford Live is committed to bringing you the best coverage of the 2011 City Council elections.  Stay tuned for candidate interviews and important election information.