Bayhealth in Milford Announces its Nurse of the Year

Nurse of the Year Nominees - Milford Memorial Hospital. Pictured Above from left to right are: Bayhealth Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Executive Bonnie Perratto, Nurse of the Year Tanya Robinson, Nominees Joanna Clayton, Sharon Flesher, and Pam James.

Tanya Robinson, BSN, RN, CCRN, is Bayhealth Nurse of the Year for Milford Memorial Hospital. Tanya will become a nominee for the Delaware Excellence in Nursing Practice Award, given by the Delaware Nurses Association each year to the top nurse in Delaware. The Bayhealth Nurse of the Year for Milford Memorial Hospital will receive a framed certificate and embroidered tote bag, and will attend the National Magnet Conference this October in Baltimore, Maryland.

Other Nurse of the Year nominees from Milford Memorial Hospital include 3-East Medical Surgical Clinical Coordinator Pamela James, BSN, RN-BC; 2 West Medical Surgical Nurse Joanna Clayton, RN; Intensive Care Unit Nurse Sharon Flesher, RN; 2-West Medical Surgical Unit Nurse Ashley Samsel, BSN, RN.

Tanya Robinson leads by example. She cultivates a culture of excellence by demonstrating the compassionate care that leads to the best outcomes for patients.

“Tanya is a role model for her peers due to her professionalism, leadership skills and dedication to critical care nursing. She is a consummate patient advocate who brings quality and ethical issues to light. She treats peers, patients, and patients’ families with the utmost dignity and respect,” said Milford Memorial Hospital Intensive Care Unit and Intermediate Care Unit Manager Mary Ann Faralli, EdD, MSN, MBA, RN, CCRN.

As Clinical Coordinator for the Milford Memorial Hospital Intensive Care Unit, Tanya Robinson successfully balances patient assignments along with her leadership role. She has earned the respect and appreciation of patients and their families. This includes one recent case in which family members submitted an “Honors Card,” saying they were “grateful and relieved” that Robinson cared for their critically ill father. She’s received many other kudos during her nearly 20 year career at Bayhealth Medical Center.

In 1992, Robinson began serving as a Certified Nursing Assistant at Milford Memorial Hospital while still enrolled at Beebe Hospital’s Nursing School Diploma Program. She served in the Intermediate Care Unit and Patient Care Management before transitioning to the Intensive Care Unit in 2005, where she continues to serve. In addition to her patient care duties, she serves as a preceptor for new RN staff, leads patient rounding, and is an active member of the Intensive Care Unit Shared Governance Council and the Bayhealth Professional Practice Council. She is a member of the American Association of Critical Care Nursing and has earned CCRN certification. Robinson earned her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Wilmington University and is also pursuing her Master of Science in Nursing from the University of Delaware.

“I thank all the nurses from my unit and from throughout the hospital. Patient care is very much a collaborative effort,” said Robinson.
The Bayhealth Nurse of the Year Award recognizes nurses who consistently promote, excel, and exemplify a positive approach to the nursing profession. The announcement of Bayhealth Nurse of the Year culminated National Nurses Week celebrations at Bayhealth Medical Center.

“We congratulate our winners, nominees and entire nursing team. Together, they epitomize the clinical excellence and compassion which are at the heart of nursing,” said Bayhealth Senior Vice President & Chief Nurse Executive Bonnie Perratto, MSN, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE.