Bucs Wrestling Begins 2011-2012 Season


Staff Report

Winter sports has begun at Milford High School as the Milford Wrestling Team is preparing for the 2011-2012 season in one of the most competitive conferences in Delaware, the Northern Division of the Henlopen Conference. Coach Dan Rigby will be working with this young team to improve their understanding and skills necessary for this year’s season.

“We have a lot of new guys who are inexperienced joining the team this year,” commented Coach Rigby. “We have a decent core of returning athletes who will help with this rebuilding year. The Henlopen Conference is a battle week to week, we will face some challenging teams.”

Coach Rigby is a 2005 graduate of Caesar Rodney High School where he wrestled for the Varsity team. He spent three years as an assistant coach at Wilmington Charter while attending college and 1 year as the assistant coach of Polytech High School before coming to Milford. The 2011-2012 season will be Coach Rigby’s second year as head coach at Milford High School.

Although the team is fairly young this year Coach Rigby sees a real competitive edge in his athletes.

“I have been very impressed by the work ethic of the new guys,” commented Coach Rigby. “They have really come in with a great attitude and are buying into what we are trying to do here.”

The Bucs will have a tough stretch going into the month of January as they compete in six competitive back-to-back matches against Wilmington Charter, Cape Henlopen, Smyrna, William Penn, Sussex Central and Seaford, most of which qualify for the State Championship most years.

“We need to compete every week,” stated Coach Rigby. “My guys are working hard and we are getting better every single day.”

The Milford Wrestling Team’s next match will be against Woodbridge High School on Wednesday, December 14 at 7pm at the Milford Central Academy Gym. For a complete schedule of the 2011-2012 season visit http://buccaneers-sports.com/Page15926.aspx.

Roster for the 2011-2012 season includes Juan Carlos Alvarez-Gonzalez, Lionel
Alvarez-Lagunas, Amando Amador, John Badger, Colton Barr, EvanBecker, Douglas
Bedo, Jeff Delva, Alvontae Drummond, Steven Gomez, Leroy Gonzalez, Matthew Groce, Cory Harding, Joseph Ibarola, Junior Lamur, Jarek Lugo, Darreus McCrea, Benjamin Mitzel, Jose Nieto, Carlos Nino, Jaquiam Parker, Christopher Raney, Ryan
Sharp, Caleb Smith, Yeris Soriano, Cody Watson, Antonio West.