Chamber Awards Dinner Picks “10 of the Best”

Dr. Jan Seitz

By CCGM Ex. Dir. Jo Schmeiser

The 2nd Annual Chamber of Commerce for Greater Milford “10 of the Best” Awards Dinner is set for Thursday April 19th at the Milford Senior Center, and the 2012 Committee is ready for the event. Chairperson Lorna Petchy says she’s looking forward to another wonderful evening, and says the committee has been working very hard to make sure everyone has a good time.

There are three nominees for each of the five awards, and chamber members are the ones casting the votes. The three businesses nominated for Non-Profit Organization of the Year include Kent-Sussex Industries, the Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition and the Milford Senior Center. Small Business of the Year Nominees include King’s Tire & Lube, First State Manufacturing and Richard Y. Johnson & Son, Inc. Large Business of the Year Nominees include Dentsply-Caulk, Seawatch and Perdue.

There were over forty new members in 2011, and the three nominees in this category are LeLoLi Cafe’ & Espresso Bar, WSFS Bank and Communities in Schools of Delaware. The common thread for these nominations is that they have been very active in the chamber as well as supporting the community organizations and events. Chamber members have one last category to vote for, Citizen of the Year. Bryan Shupe, Eric Hitch and Irv Ambrose are this year’s nominees. While reading through these nominations I found most comments were similar, stating these three are well respected in the community, they spend a lot of their time volunteering and just all around good guys.

In addition to the awards presentation, the guest speaker for this year’s dinner is Dr. Jan Seitz from the College of Agriculture & Natural Resources at the University of Delaware. Dr. Seitz holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education form Bowling Green State University in Ohio and a special education credential from San Francisco State University. Following a 17 year teaching career in public schools, she completed both a master’s degree and PH.D in leadership development, youth development and programming for youth from special populations at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Seitz was a professor/director of graduate program in the College of Education at the UIUC and has won several awards and published many journals over the years.

If you’re interested in hearing Dr. Seitz speak, and would like to see who win the “10 of the Best” awards this year and have fun networking, tickets are available now. The cost for chamber members is $35.00. The cost is $40.00 for non-members. Tickets can be purchased by contacting the chamber at 422.3344, or email The cocktail reception will begin at 5:30, a sit-down dinner will be served at 6:30 and the guest speaker and awards presentation will follow. There is a limited amount of seating, so make sure to purchase your tickets before they’re gone.