“10 of the Best” Award Winners Announced

Donna Stalvey, Angela Dorey, Eli Valenzuela- First State Manufacturing, Billy Dorey, Carol Kennedy-Dentsply Caulk, Mayor Ronnie Rogers-accepting the award for Gary Emory, Bryan Shupe, Cheryl Doucette & Connie Holdridge-The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition, Charlie Burton

By CCGM Ex. Director Jo Schmeiser

The 2nd Annual “10 of the Best” Awards Dinner was held Thursday April 19th Annual at the Milford Senior Center, where close to 100 attendees enjoyed networking, dinner, a wonderful guest speaker and the opportunity to congratulate nominees and winners of this year’s awards.

Before starting dinner Fred made sure to thank all of the sponsors, including i.g. Burton & Company, Inc., Brightfields, Inc., Delaware Hospice Center, Burris Logistics, Bayhealth Medical Center, The Dover Federal Credit Union, The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition, Kent County Tourism and Larson’s Mower Shop. Fred also mentioned the beautiful floral centerpieces donated by Gooden’s Floral Shop.

After the announcements were made, dinner was served by Heather and the wait staff at the Milford Senior Center. What a wonderful job they did, making sure all dinners were served hot & quick. Guests were finishing up dinner when it was time for me to make a few announcements. Dignitaries, including Representative Harvey Kenton, Mayor Rogers and his wife Ruth, Councilman Doug Morrow along with CCGM Executive Board Members and the 2012 CCGM Board of Directors were introduced, as was Dr. Jan Seitz, the guest speaker for the evening.

After Jan spoke it was time to name the winners, and Fred was ready to start handing out the awards. The “Ten of the Best” winners include Bryan Shupe for Citizen of the Year, The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition took home the award for Non-Profit Organization, First State Manufacturing won Small Business of the Year, Dentsply-Caulk won Large Business of the Year and LeLoLi Café and Espresso Bar took home the prize for new member of the Year. Angela Dorey was the winner of Board Member of the Year, Gary Emory won Chairperson of the Year, the winner of Volunteer of the Year is Donna Stalvey and the Youth Volunteer of the Year is Billy Dory. Charlie Burton was pleasantly surprised when his name was announced as the President’s Choice.

Thanks to all of our sponsors, congratulations to all the nominees and the winners and thanks to everyone who came out to support fellow chamber members.
We look forward to planning the 3rd annual dinner, and look forward to seeing more surprised, smiling faces next year. For more information about the Chamber of Commerce for Greater Milford call 422.3344, email milford@milforchamber.com, visit the website at www.milfordchamber.com or check us out on facebook.