Rogers, Grier Win City Elections


On Saturday, April 25 the citizens of Milford voted in the 2012 Milford municipal election. This year hosted two contested races including elections for the Mayor of Milford and the First Ward seat for Milford City Council.

In the mayoral race, incumbent Ronnie Rogers defeated challenger James Oeschler to begin his 29th year as the Mayor of Milford . With a total vote count of 802, Rogers defeated Oeschler 472 votes to 330 votes.

“It feels great to be able to serve the City again,” commented Rogers when asked about his victory. “We plan to do exactly what we have been doing. We will focus on economic development and keep Milford in the spotlight.”

Mayor Rogers has a long history with the City of Milford. The 1956 graduate of Milford High School was first elected to city government in 1972 as the representative for the 1st Ward.  He served as Councilman until 1982 when he was elected the Mayor of Milford that year.  His term lasted until 2008 when he was defeated by Daniel Marabello.  Mr. Rogers ran for Mayor in 2010 and was re-elected to the position.  Mayor Rogers is currently the longest serving Mayor in the State of Delaware.

In the race for City Council’s First Ward, incumbent Garrett Grier defeated challenger Michael Spillane to begin his second term as a City Council member. With a total vote count of 343, Grier defeated Spillane 238 votes to 105 votes.

“It feels good,” commented Councilman Grier when ask about his victory. “I’m glad we can continue to move in the direction we have been. Economic development and strong fiscal management are the issues we will continue to focus on.”

Mr. Grier has been a member of City Council since 2010 and is currently Chairman of Economic Development Committee and member of the Finance Committee. Garrett is a lifelong resident of Milford, graduating from Milford High in 1999 and Elon University in 2003 with a Bachelors in Business Administration.