Milford Dominates Opening Round of District Tournament


Sent in by Chuck Campbell. The Senior League Softball District Tournament began at Shutte Park in Dover last week as the Milford All Star team made their presence known, scoring 14 runs in the first two games. Last year, the Milford All Star team won the District and State Title for the Junior League Division and they look to repeat their success as they compete at the Senior League level.

On Saturday, July 7 the Milford All Stars faced off against MOT (Middletown, Odessa and Townsend) and delivered a commanding blow to their opponents with a 10-0 win in the bottom of the 5th inning. Haylee Scruggs pitched 4 innings, striking out 8 batters and allowing the only 3 hits for MOT; she also scored a run. Brea MacFarland relieved Scruggs in for the 5th inning to retire the next 3 batters and seal the victory.

Left fielder Jasmine Passwaters led off the 3rd inning with a standing triple and scored for Milford on an RBI by center fielder Kayla Brennan.  Milford short stop Kasey Fry had an inside-the-park home run and also scored an additional run. Emily Messick, Harley Rickards and Jenna Campbell all scored 2 runs each for Milford.

On Sunday, July 8 the Milford girls played the second round against Dover Little League and came through with another strong victory, defeating Dover 4-0. The combined pitching between Brea MacFarland & Haylee Scruggs sealed Milford’s victory by striking out 8 batters. Scruggs, went 2 for 4; singled & doubled scoring 1 run. Kasey Fry went 1-4 with an RBI, scoring a run herself. Jenna Campbell & Jasmine Passwaters scored a run each for Milford. Kayla Brennan had a sacrifice bunt that scored Passwaters. Emily Messick went 2 for 3 with a single, double and an RBI.

In the next round of the tournament Milford will play Marydel Hartly on Tuesday night at 8pm in Shutte Park in Dover. If Milford defeats Marydel in this winners bracket round they will win a place in the Tournament game, held next week.

The 2012 senior league team is: Haylee Scruggs, Sydney Scruggs, Kasey Fry, Megan Fry, Brea MacFarland, Jenna Campbell, Harley Rickards, Emily Messick, Jasmine Passwaters, Amber Walls, Savannah Case, Dominique Romero & Kayla Brennan. Coaches are Ron Fry, Ernie Scruggs and Elmer Walls.