2013 School Board Election Set


After the filing deadline for the Milford Board of Education on Friday, March 1, the Area “A” seat has been determined and the At-large position up for election in the district is just getting started as six candidates filed for the race.

Sharon A. Kirby, a retired Milford High School Principal, was unopposed and will assume the Area “A” seat for the Milford School Board of Education on June 1, 2013, along with the winner of the At-Large seat. Kirby will be replacing a seat that became open when School Board Member Herman Cohee decided to step down.

Candidates seeking the At-Large seat for the Milford School District Board of Education include Hunter Emory, Kevin W. Marshall Jr., Natalie R. Shockley, Alan R. Southard, Robert B. Vincelette Jr. and Michael Wells. School Board Elections will be held on Tuesday, May 14, 2013 and the winner of the election will serve a five year term.

Milford LIVE.com will be providing readers with in-depth interviews with each candidate closer to the election, stay tuned.