Kirby, Emory Sworn In To School Board

Sharon Kirby and Hunter Emory were both sworn in as the newest members of the Milford School Board.
Sharon Kirby and Hunter Emory were both sworn in as the newest members of the Milford School Board.

By Terry Rogers

On Monday, July 8, two new school board members were sworn in at the Milford School District Board of Education Reorganization Meeting. Sharon Kirby, a retired Milford High School principal, took the District A seat after running unopposed. As a former administrator at Milford High School, Mrs. Kirby had a specific vision for what she hoped to accomplish during her term on the school board.

“I want to bring this district back to the prominence it used to have,” Mrs. Kirby said. “I see it moving in a better direction, but there is still more to do to return it to the level it was just a few years ago.”

Hunter Emory, whose father Patrick Emory was School Board President for the past two years, took an At Large seat. Emory won the May election by a margin of 37.7 % of the total vote (201 out of a total of 532 votes). The total vote count was as follows: Hunter Emory, 201; Kevin W. Marshall, 91; Natalie R. Shockley, 142; Alan R. Southard, 34; Robert B. Vincelette, 8; and Michael Wells, 56. Emory says that his family encouraged public service, and he wanted to give back to the community that his family has lived in for over two centuries.

“I want to be the voice of the younger generation on the school board,” Mr. Emory said. “I want to promote their needs and make decisions that will benefit them.”

Hunter sees the future of the Milford Middle School building, security and new curriculum requirements as the biggest challenges Milford will face over the next few years. Both Mrs. Kirby and Mr. Emory will serve five-year terms on the Milford School Board.

After the two new School Board members were sworn in, nominations were held for School Board leadership. Before accepting the nominations, President Patrick Emory thanked the board and staff for their assistance over the past two years.

“I want to make it clear that I am not running for the president seat again,” Mr. Emory said. “But I want to thank Dr. Kohel, the administration, the staff and the rest of the board for helping us come a long way in two years. We brought on more resource officers, something I have been trying to do for ten years. We implemented a dress code that most parents seem to be happy with. We brought Phyllis back and changed the direction of this district. Many of us suspected there were some theft issues in the district and we have resolved those issues as well.”

Mr. Emory then accepted the nomination of Marvin Schelhouse as President. With no other nominations, Mr. Schelhouse took the seat as president of the board, while Renate Wiley took the vice president position. Phyllis Kohel was selected to act as Executive Secretary. Eugene Rust remained the designee for the Delaware School Board Association Board of Directors with Barry Fry appointed as alternate. Sharon Kirby volunteered to represent Milford on the Delaware School Board Association Legislative Committee with Renate Wiley appointed as alternate.