Football Celebrates and Remembers


By Kevin Eickman

Post season award ceremonies can be fairly routine. This past Sunday the 2017 Milford football team held their award ceremony and it was anything but routine. After it appeared that all the awards were presented and the day’s festivities done, coach Shaun Strickland called the entire football team and support staff up to the front of the cafeteria. It was then that Milford presented a new team award for the first time.

This past season the Milford family suffered a tragic loss this past December. With the passing of Milford freshman Joseph Windle, Milford High School Football will start a new tradition as they present an annual award to a player that embodies his spirit.

“[This award will go to the player] Who is hard nosed. The guy you hate to practice against because he always makes you work so hard,” said Coach Bryan Boyd. “Joe was maybe 140 pounds soaking wet, but he was probably one of the hardest hitters we had. He never stopped, he never gave up on a play, he has the kind of heart you look for in a football player.”

Following coach Boyd’s words, Strickland called forward Windle’s mother Benita Bloom and presented her with the first ever Joseph Windle Rising Star Award as the room filled with both applause and tears. Coach Strickland later expounded, “Joe will always be a part of this team, he will always be part of the Milford family.”

During the prior portion of the event, Milford took time to recognized numerous players for their accomplishments throughout their season and careers. At the very top of the list was Milford senior David Bowman, who was recognized as the teams MVP as well as the Offensive MVP. In addition to his team honors, Bowman has been recognized as the State of Delaware Defensive Player of the Year as well as 1st Team All-State Offense and Defense. Finally Bowman was presented with a custom football, commemorating his time as a Buccaneer. Bowman has also been selected to play in the Blue-Gold game this June.



Other award winners include:

Rahshawn Price was presented the Iron Pirate Award for being tough as nails and fighting through adversity.

Thomas Eisenbrey was presented the Dave Bereowski Award for starting his career at Milford Pop Warner and finishing his career at the high school level as a Buccaneer. Eisenbrey was a four year starter for the Bucs, 2nd team All-Conference and has also been selected to play in the Blue-Gold game.

Caleb Watson earned the Keith Booze Award for his year round work both on the field and in the weight room all year long.

Tyron Mifflin garnered the Defensive MVP Award. Mifflin was a big play maker for the Buccaneers all season long and consistently played with heart and determination.

Ritchy Corvil was named Offensive Lineman of the Year as a force on a line that consistently allowed the Milford running game to flourish all season long. Corvil was also named 2nd team All-State.

Jordan Waters was named Defensive Lineman of the Year spearheading the front line of a defense that gave up just a hair over 12 points per game. Waters has also been selected to play in the Blue-Gold game this June.

Tyreke Benson earned the Maroon and Gold Award for demonstrating hard work and team spirit.

Bevensky Agustin was presented the 12th Man Award in recognition for his skill and versatility at numerous positions.

John Gaglione was named Special Teams Player of the Year. Gaglione excelled on both field goals and punts.

Zyair Toledo was named Most Improved Offensive Player due to his efforts on the field.

Eric Bennett was named Most Improved Defensive Player due to his continued improvement.

Marquis Gillis and Bryce Wells were name Co-Rookies of the Year.

Ricky Mercado Diaz JV Defensive MVP.

Dion Walker JV Offensive MVP.

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 7.24.15 AM

Sign up for you free digital subscription of The Weekly Review, delivered directly to your email every Tuesday morning. A quick cover-to-cover read to catch up on the news of the week and experience great stories about our local communities. Sign up for your free email subscription below.