Wilson Selected as Legislator of the Year


The Delaware Association of Conservation Districts (DACD) recognized State Rep. Dave Wilson recently as the 2017 Legislator of the Year. The group cited Rep. Wilson’s advocacy of conservation activities and programs — both in Sussex County and statewide — as the reason for his selection.

The May 1st presentation in Dover was part of the annual Governor’s Agricultural and Urban Conservation Awards that included a proclamation officially designating April 29-May 6 as Soil and Water Stewardship Week.

Rep. Wilson said he was humbled and honored to receive the recognition and praised the day’s other award winners. “It is heartening to see farmers and businesses investing in conservation,” he said. “Together with the men and women working in our conservation districts, they are quietly doing crucial work to protect the environment and maintain the quality of our agriculture.”

Conservation districts were created throughout the nation in the aftermath of the Dust Bowl era to help farmers and others become better stewards of the land.


In photo, from left: State Reps. Deborah Hudson, Joe Miro, Lyndon Yearick & Ruth Briggs King; Carolyn Wilson, State Sen. Brian Pettyjohn, State Rep. Harvey Kenton, Margaret Jewell, State Rep. Dave Wilson, Etta Moyer, State Rep. Charles Postles, Gov. John Carney, State Rep. Gerald Brady, State Sens. Ernie Lopez & Gerald Hocker; State Reps. Danny Short & Tim Dukes.