Lax Celebrates Successful Season

Jun 11 2019 /

By Kevin Eickman

Last Wednesday evening the Milford lacrosse team gathered for their end of season awards banquet. It was a chance to reflect on a successful 11-4 season which saw the Buccaneers earn their third consecutive Henlopen South title. While Milford may have made an early tournament exit at the hands of State title runner up Salesianum, the season was another step forward for the Bucs. Along with the winning record, a plethora of individual recognition was given to quite a few Milford Players.

Varsity Awards:

Most Improved Player, Josiah Irvin – “This was a player that played a lot more defense than we expected him to. Whenever and wherever he was needed he stepped up to the challenge and met it head on,” stated Coach Blake Faulkner

Heart and Hustle, Landan Hajek – “This player was one of the quickest players on the field. Every time we called upon him to do something he got it done,” Faulkner said. “It didn’t matter if it was running out the clock or anything else, he got it done.”

Defensive MVP, Ryan Frost – “Ryan stepped in as goalie and even though it was some tough going at first, he continued to improve as the season went on,” stated Faulkner. “He really put his heart into it and the effort really showed.”

Offensive MVP, Jon Gaglione – “We were very solid on offense this year and I believe we showed that all season long,” Faulkner commented. “Jon had 59 goals and 29 assists. He is going to leave Milford as the all-time leading scorer with a total of 234 points.” Gaglione was also selected as Honorable Mention All-State, the first such selection in Bucs history.

Team MVP, Bryce Wells – “From the start of the season you could see his determination. He took face-offs, worked man down situations and just never let his foot off the gas pedal,” Faulkner said. “It was really great to watch him grind from the beginning to the end in each and every game.”

JV Awards:

Most Improved Player, Chris Braga – “This was his first year playing lacrosse and at the start of the year he was learning how to throw and catch. By the end of it he was finding a way to put the ball in the back of the net,” Coach Ryan Deeney said.

Heart and Hustle Award, Shannon Wilt – “He demonstrates a tremendous amount of determination, no matter the task he is given. He is the type of player who leads by example,” Deeney said. “He is the type of player that gives it his all every minute of every day.”

Defensive MVP, Cannon Cline – “This was a real tough award to decide on but Cannon just stood slightly above the rest on a very good defense,” Deeney commented. “He is a great communicator and a solid defensive player.”

Offensive MVP, Shane Sylvester – “We had a really good offense this year but it was the way that Shane got everyone involved on the offensive end that really set him apart,” Deeney stated.

Academic All-Conference: Jon Gaglione, Harley Lightner, Corey Messick, Conor Christie, Josiah Irvin and Ryan Johnson.

Henlopen South All-Conference: Honorable Mention, Charles Hayes. Second Team, Bevensky Augustin (DEF) and Bryce Wells (Face-off). First Team, Alex Herka (Mid-Field), Jon Gaglione (Mid-Field), Conor Christie (Attack) and Landan Hajek (Attack).

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 7.24.15 AM

Sign up for you free digital subscription of The Weekly Review, delivered directly to your email every Tuesday morning. A quick cover-to-cover read to catch up on the news of the week and experience great stories about our local communities. Sign up for your free email subscription below.


Comments are closed

Log in | Copyright 2010-2012 Milford LIVE, LLC. 805 Joshua Dr., Milford, DE 19963