The state's 2024 secretary scholars were honored Tuesday night.

93 honored as 2024 Secretary of Education Scholars

Jarek RutzEducation, Headlines

The state's 2024 secretary scholars were honored Tuesday night.

The state’s 2024 secretary scholars were honored Tuesday night.

The head of Delaware’s Department of Education has named his 93 scholars for 2024.

Secretary of Education Mark Holodick selected the students based on their continued academic achievement and involvement in the community.Β 

β€œThis represents one of the highest academic achievements a student can earn in a Delaware public school,” Holodick said at a dinner in Dover honoring the students Tuesday night.

The state has named the Secretary of Education Scholars every year since 1984.

The number of scholars from each school is based on enrollment, and school principals nominate the students based on their academic records, school leadership and community service.

β€œEvery scholar here has achieved incredible success in and out of the classroom – ranging from extraordinary accomplishments on school athletic teams to community service and school leadership positions,” Holodick said. β€œThese students balance all of these demands of their time and still are able to study and excel academically.”

Here are this year’s Secretary Scholars:Β 


Tejasvi Gottipati – Odessa High School

Aarush Goyal – Appoquinimink High School

Adithi Jonnagadla – Middletown High School

Ananya Kambhampati – Middletown High School

Josselyn Reader – Odessa High School

Meghan Virani – Appoquinimink High School


Osman Baig – Mount Pleasant High School

Olivia Erskine – Brandywine High School

Malti John – Brandywine High School

Katelyn Khov – Mount Pleasant High School

Emily Lynch – Concord High School

Evan Mo – Concord High School

Caesar Rodney

Laura Fenush – Caesar Rodney High School

Samantha Franco – Caesar Rodney High School

Elisabeth Harvey – Caesar Rodney High School

Alyssa Potter – Caesar Rodney High School

Cape Henlopen

Ashley Carrier – Cape Henlopen High School

Sophia Chilelli – Cape Henlopen High School

Morgan Newcomb – Cape Henlopen High School


Kayla Victoria Tabalon – Dover High School

Lydia Witnaigoonlaud – Dover High School

Brandon Yoder – Dover High School


Aiman Ahmed – Odyssey Charter School

Anaum Allimulla – Newark Charter School

Christopher Cuellar – Early College School at DSU

Kathleen Ford – First State Military Academy

Aidan Fredericks – Positive Outcomes Charter School

Kevin He – Charter School of Wilmington

Riya Jani – Sussex Academy

Runyi Liu – Newark Charter School

Iveena Mukherjee – Charter School of Wilmington

Tevaughn Sanford-Brown – Great Oaks Charter

Justine Sullivan – Las Americas Aspira Academy

Benjamin Swift – Delaware Military Academy

McKenna Vest – Delaware Military Academy

Quintin Williams – Freire Charter School

Cathy Zhao – MOT Charter School

Sabrina Zheng – MOT Charter School


Rola Alhawari – Delaware School for the Deaf

Joshua DeLuca – Pyle (Sarah) Academy

Enrique Flores-Lopez – Glasgow High School

Peter Garcia – Glasgow High School

Yuchan Li – Newark High School

Rebekah Tuminaro – Christiana High School

Grace Urban – Christiana High School

Felicia Zhang – Newark High School


Anthony Ayala – William Penn High School

Adrianna Hutton – William Penn High School

Folashayo Kehinde – William Penn High School

Mollie Lukowski – William Penn High School


Russell Affum – Delmar High School

Julianna Morelli – Delmar High School

Indian River

Brynn Crandell – Indian River High School

Peyton Dukes – Sussex Central High School

Molly Gartman – Sussex Central High School

Delsy Gomez Bartolon – Sussex Central High School

Caleb Rodgers – Indian River High School

Lindsey Sontay Pelico – Sussex Central High School

Lake Forest

Kathryn Argo – Lake Forest High School

Nicholas Riggi – Lake Forest High School


Chelsea Littleton – Laurel Senior High School

Caleb Murat – Laurel Senior High School


Carley Mackert – Milford High School

Jorja Willey – Milford High School

New Castle County Vo-Tech

Layla Browne – Howard High School of Technology

Fatima Cruz-Ocampo – Delcastle Technical High School

Rocio Garduno-Castaneda – Delcastle Technical High School

Maiss Hussein – Hodgson Vocational Technical High School

Brian Jackson – Delcastle Technical High School

Kayla Klosowski – Howard High School of Technology

Gwendolynn Loux – St. Georges Technical High School

Victoria Moseley – Hodgson Vocational Technical High School

Nasir Williams – St. Georges Technical High School


Molly Kenney – Polytech High School

Elizabeth Talamini-Kelemen – Polytech High School

Red Clay Consolidated

Molly Campion – Dickinson School

Aidan Hawley – Conrad Schools of Science

Caitlyn Lea – Dickinson School

Raye-Lee McDonald – McKean High School

Aiden Morris – AI duPont

Kyleigh Pernell – McKean High School

Joyce Sosa-Marcano – Conrad Schools of Science

Irwin Wang – Calloway School of the Arts

Elliott Warburton – AI duPont


Marlie Janvier – Seaford Senior High School

Adilene Quezada-Castrejon – Seaford Senior High School


Sydnee Holt – Smyrna High School

Khang Nguyen – Smyrna High School

Max Santos – Smyrna High School

Sussex County Vo-Tech

Rebekah Cullen – Sussex Technical High School

Alyssa Molock – Sussex Technical High School


Avery Kerrick – Woodbridge High School

Laney Scott – Woodbridge High School

Share this Post