Connell wins school board election

Terry RogersEducation, Headlines, Milford Headline Story

Ashlee Connell has been elected to an At-Large seat on Milford School District Board of Education

The State of Delaware Department of Elections announced that Ashlee Connell has been declared the unofficial winner of the Milford School District Board of Education At-Large Seat. Connell will replace David Vezmar who chose not to run for reelection.

Connell received 1,050 votes (56.09%) and her opponent Danielle Deinert received 822 votes (43.91%). According to the Department of Elections, 7.99 percent of voters cast ballots in the election.

“Thank you to the great Milford Community!” Connell said. “After a hard-fought, three month campaign, we have achieved another victory for traditional principles and conservative, results-oriented board governance. I will join the board in a time of great challenges and opportunities for the Milford School District.”

Connell continued, congratulating her opponent.

“Firstly, I want to congratulate my opponent, Danielle Dienert, for her hard work, both on this campaign and in the district. It has not gone unnoticed,” Connell said. “To all my supporters and volunteers, I want to give you my heartfelt thanks. To the parents and grandparents, bus drivers, teachers, students and community members who shared with me your stories and concerns, I want you to know, above all, that I heard you. Please join me now In congratulating my fellow brand new board members, Butch Elzey and Jen Massotti. Above all, I call on our community to rededicate our support for our many great frontline teachers and, of course, our precious children.”

When the results were announced, Deinert congratulated Connell for winning.

“I would like to congratulate Ashlee Connell for her success in the school board election,” Deinert said. “I wish her the best of luck in her upcoming term. I would also like to thank the Milford community for taking the time yesterday to come out and vote in the school board election.”

Connell will be sworn in at the July school board meeting along with Victor “Butch” Elzey, who will represent District A and Jennifer Massotti, who will represent Area B. Massotti’s term will expire in 2024 as the seat was vacated by Kris Thompson in 2022. Both Elzey and Massotti ran unopposed for their seat.

Share this Post