DOE chief Holodick honors 2022 Secretary Scholars

Jarek RutzEducation, Headlines


Among Delaware’s 2022 Secretary Scholars are: from left, top row, Sara Sobocinski, Alaina McPherson, Araf Jahin; bottom row, Paulina Lopez-Gomez, Jasnoor Saini and Quinlyn Long.


In a tradition that dates nearly 40 years, the secretary of education at the Delaware Department of Education has published a list of Secretary Scholars.

This year, Secretary of Education Mark Holodick honored 89 high school seniors across the state with the award.

In a press release, he called the students the kind of leaders the state needs and said he was impressed  with what the students achieved through all the COVID-19 pandemic challenges.

“During their high school careers they have persevered through school building closures, remote learning, hybrid learning and the transition back to full-time face-to-face instruction,” he said in the press release. “Not only have they earned high academic accolades, they are leaders in their schools, athletic teams and communities. Many have balanced impressive class schedules and extracurricular calendars with part-time jobs and volunteer service.”

Scholars who have performed exceptionally academically while also leaving their footprint on their community are selected by each high school  for Holodick to honor. 

Here are this year’s Secretary Scholars

Appoquinimink High School

Courtney Candy

Jodie Li

Krisha Parekh

Brandywine High School

Elyse Hunt

Joshua Smith

Caesar Rodney High School

Mason Bush

Madison Crossley

Anna Dai

Emma Higgins

Cab Calloway School of the Arts

Ashley Bao 

Nicole Wang

Cape Henlopen High School

Madison Costello

Quinlyn Long

Brayden Rochester

Charter School of Wilmington

Jack Wu

David Yan

Christiana High School

Deeya Patel

Angeline Preske

Concord High School

Adhya Anilkumar

Esther Chung

Conrad Schools of Science

Matthew Metzler

Arya Mittal

Delaware Military Academy

Joshua Gutzmirtl

Sara Sobocinski

Delcastle Technical High School

Dylan Blevins

Nevina Bradley

Alaina McPherson

Delmar High School

Jacob Adkins

Nandi Patel

Dickinson (John) School

Lillian Hill

Paulina Lopez-Gomez

Dover High School

Tyasia Cannon

Laura Garcia

Ayden Hayes

Alexis I. duPont High School

Faeghan Falconi

Eileena Mathews

Early College High School at Del State

Benjamin Church

First State Military Academy

Kyndall Wyngaard

Freire School

Esunge Ntiege

Glasgow High School

Abigail Adeneye

Jada Turner

Howard High School of Technology

Ayanna Harris

Briana Hernandez-Cuevas

Hodgson Vocational Technical High School

Ailyn Lopez

Jamie Pacheco

Indian River High School

Reagan Hockenbrock

Brynn McCabe

Lake Forest High School

Kylie Chargaris

Jenna Troyer

Laurel Senior High School

Dakota Hickerson

Ashlynn Toppin

McKean (Thomas) High School

Helen Gomes

Taneille Jordan

Middletown High School

Adrianna Castro

Won Jang

Jasnoor Saini

Milford Senior High School

Victoria Nikolaeva

Nathan Wolhar

MOT Charter School

Araf Jahin

Oluwaseun Ogundimu

Mount Pleasant High School

Jessica Bennett

Kathryn Farabaugh

Newark Charter School

Raphael Kim

Natalie Yang

Newark High School

Jasleen Kaur

Odyssey Charter School

Diya Dudhia

Penn (William) High School

Alexander Daix

Sheyenne Faircloth

Evan Freund

Alexandria Thomas

POLYTECH High School

Emma Coleman

Megan Popp

Positive Outcomes Charter School

Kayla Jones

Seaford High School

Ciera Holmes

Yeraldin Torres-Landeros

Smyrna High School

Sarah-Ashley Dinsmore

Robert Mace

Ryan Malone

St. Georges Technical High School

Vincent Helms

Imani Wulff-Cochrane

Sussex Academy

Samantha Oliver

Sussex Central High School

Violette Blackham

Kalyn Pusey

Laicie Terry

Sussex Technical High School

Abby Fowler

Kaitlyn Vogel

Woodbridge High School

Bethany Knutsen

Anjolie Suberro

Share this Post