Irene P. Sorbara Foundation Awards Nursing Scholarships

Staff WriterBusiness, Police & Fire, RSS, RSS-Business

Each year, the Irene P. Sorbara Charitable Foundation awards scholarships to Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing students.

The following students were awarded scholarship monies this year: Gracie Brewster of Selbyville, Alexis Porohnavi of Georgetown, Marisol Isabelle Azar of Millsboro, and Reagan Hockenbrock of Selbyville.

The Irene P. Sorbara Charitable Foundation was established to award scholarships to residents of Sussex County who are pursuing a post-secondary education in the field of nursing or teaching. Sorbara was born in Lewes in 1938 and died in 2007. She spent all her working career (30 years) as an elementary school teacher in Rehoboth Beach.
The Foundation’s Board of Governors determines which institution will receive the annual award, and the institution chooses the recipient(s), who must be a Sussex County resident, eligible for a student loan (but not a Pell Grant), who has GPA of 3.0 or higher. The scholarship funds can be used for tuition and costs directly related to school expenses.

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare, which celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2021, is accredited by The Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) and is a designated Center of Excellence in Nursing Education by the National League for Nursing (NLN). The Diploma in Professional Nursing is awarded at the completion of the curriculum, qualifying graduates to be eligible for the National Council of State Boards of Nursing NCLEX examination, leading to licensure as a registered nurse. Beebe graduates consistently have the highest NCLEX pass rates in the state.

Share this Post