Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing Announces Winners of 2024 Mildred Gray – Village Improvement Association Scholarships

Staff WriterBusiness, Police & Fire, RSS, RSS-Business

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare is pleased to announce that two nursing students have been awarded the Mildred Gray – Village Improvement Association (VIA) Scholarship for 2024.

First-year nursing students Hannah Collins from Millsboro and Nicholas Vitella of Georgetown were named this year’s scholarship recipients. This award is presented to students who are residents of Sussex County, have a B average in nursing courses, and have demonstrated financial need. On hand to present the scholarship awards were Kate McKenzie, VIA President; Carole Suchanek, VIA Scholarship Chairperson; and Rose Marie Patin, VIA Advanced Nursing Scholarships Chairperson.

The VIA of Rehoboth Beach, a member of General Federation of Women’s Club (GFWC), sponsors the Mildred Gray scholarship to support local nursing students. Members of the VIA volunteer their time to support local fundraisers, charitable events, and civic in the greater Rehoboth Beach area.

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare, which celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2021, is accredited by The Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) and is a designated Center of Excellence in Nursing Education by the National League for Nursing (NLN). The Diploma in Professional Nursing is awarded at the completion of the curriculum, qualifying graduates to be eligible for the National Council of State Boards of Nursing NCLEX examination, leading to licensure as a registered nurse. Beebe graduates consistently have the highest NCLEX pass rates in the state.

Share this Post