Saint Mark’s wins big in Scholastic Writing Awards

Staff WriterBusiness, Police & Fire, RSS, RSS-Business

Saint Mark’s High School is pleased to announce that twenty-four students earned top honors in this year’s Delaware Regional Scholastic Writing Awards. Two of those students earned Gold Key status and will be moving onto the national competition.

These students join the nine students who were previously announced as winners of the Delaware Regional Scholastic Art Awards. Saint Mark’s had two Gold Key winners in the art category, as well.

Awardees will be recognized at a virtual awards ceremony in May. Gold Key works will advance to the national competition, with medalists being announced in June.

Junior Kirah Irani won the Gold Key in the Science Fiction and Fantasy Category for the piece Forever Residents. “I wrote it as  an origin story for a made-up urban legend. It follows a pair of siblings and how their entire lives change in an instant. I have always enjoyed writing, especially fantasy, and winning this award has shown me others enjoy my writing as much as I enjoy writing it,” she said.

Freshman Mia Hussnatter won the Gold Key for her personal narrative essay Diversity is in Everyone. “This essay explores how I learned, through my amputated grandfather, that everyone is diverse and suffers through their struggles daily,” she said. “He doesn’t let his problems overthrow him, but he fights back.”

Rebecca Harvey, Assistant Principal for Curriculum and Instruction, was excited to share the good news with the Spartan community. “We are very proud of our talented writers. We continue to foster creativity and passion for the written word as is exemplified in these fine, emerging authors,” she said.

The student winners from Saint Mark’s High School are as follows:
Kirah Irani
Mia Hussnatter

Briana Balmir
Brooke Kennedy
Sophia Hayden
Erin Cannon
Andrew Bailey
Meghan Kirker
Mac Casalvera

Mariana Fernandez
Aidann Gomez
Gianna Bracalenti
Katie Zwilgmeyer
Nick Tokarski
Theresa Rosanio
Fin Wilson
Brianna Fegley
Shay Burns
Macy Pritt
Cara Cocuzza
John Jacob
Kyle Sollenberger
Dana Shanklin
Banke Odugbesan

Share this Post