DIFCA awards banquet annouces Coaches of the Year

Glenn FrazerHeadlines, Sports

Class 3A coach of year Mike Frederick from Cape Henlopen holding his award with DIFCA president John Wilson, photo courtesy of Glenn Frazer

(Dover)  The Delaware Interscholastic Football Coaches Association (DIFCA) held its 20th annual awards banquet Monday night at the Modern Maturity Center in Dover. The All-Class teams were awarded trophies, including players of the year.

Two officials were honored during the ceremony. John Patterson from the Northern Delaware Football Officials Association (DFOA) was awarded a plaque for his services since 1975. Terry Handy of the Delmarva Football Officials Association was also given a plaque recognizing his 15 years as a referee. The two major officiating organizations still face declining numbers to adequately cover games. Interested individuals can contact ndfoa.org or dfoa.net for more information.


One of the highlights of the night came at the end of the banquet when the three coaches of the year were announced. In Class 1A, Brendon Ireton of state champion Tatnall was honored. Ireton guided the Hornets to the school’s first title. 

The Class 2A Coach of the Year was John Reed of Caravel. Coach Reed led the Buccaneers to an undefeated season and the program’s first title since 2012. 


The final award went to Class 3A Coach of the Year Mike Frederick who guided Cape Henlopen to the championship game. It was the school’s first appearance in a championship game since 1984.

Share this Post