2023 All State Baseball Awards 

Nick Halliday Headlines, High Schools, Sports

Tyler August from Delaware Military Academy DMA was voted Delaware baseball player of the year, photo by Nick Halliday

Delaware Military Academy’s Tyler August is the 2023 All State Baseball player of the year, and Jamie Clark from Sanford is the 2023 All State Baseball Coach of the year. 


August was voted as player of the year for dominance on the mound and with his bat.His 1.4 ERA was second this season to Marty Coyne of Tower Hill who posted a .84. Both pitchers were tied with 78K’s this season, but Tyler posted a 5-1 record and also pitched a no hitter this season. He is a highly touted pitcher by many Major League baseball scouts with a fastball that has reached 96 at times and a slider that is extremely hard to hit. 


At the plate August posted a .411 batting average with 17 singles, 5 doubles and a homerun. He also added 20 RBI’s and in his 56 plate appearances he only struck out 6 times. 

Jamie Clark led the Sanford Warriors to their first Delaware Independent Sports Conference (DISC) championship in 48 years. The last time Sanford won their conference was 1975.The Warriors had a 16-1 record this season which earned them the No. 7 seed in this year’s baseball state championship. 

Jamie Clark coach of the Sanford Warriors baseball team is the 2023 baseball coach of the year, photo by Nick Halliday

Pitchers                                                   Grade            School Short Stop                                                   Grade                School
1st Tyler August 12 DMA 1st Andrew Firko 11 Concord
Marty Coyne 12 Tower Hill 2nd Dustin Green 12 St. Elizabeth
2nd Nick Cox 12 Cape Henlopen Garrett Quinn 12 St. Marks
John Klepacki 12 St. Marks HM Timmy Hitchcock 12 Cape Henlopen
James Breen 12 St. Georges Bobby Stewart 12 St. Georges
HM Drew Simpson 12 DMA Jace Jarmon 10 Indian River
Brandon Grygo 12 Wm. Penn
Evan Frank 12 Salesianum
1st Rosnell Lewis 10 Sussex Tech
T. J. Morris 12 Sussex Central
Jackson LaPerle 11 Concord
1st Brett Walmsley 12 Conrad 2nd Brandon Boyd 11 Middletown
2nd Kade Hall 11 Sussex Tech Donovan Brooks 12 St. Georges
HM Wyatt Uhde 12 Appoquinimink Marty Coyne 12 Tower Hill
Kayden Shockley 12 Laurel Brady Fox 11 Sanford
Riley Burroughs 12 Red Lion HM Isaac Terhune 11 Cape Henlopen
Brandon Grygo 12 William Penn
First Base Luke Trout 11 St. Elizabeth
1st Tyler August 12 DMA Chris Albero 12 Archmere
2nd James Breen 12 St. Georges Roman Keith 12 Indian River
Luke Filliben 11 Sanford Andrew Callaway 12 Delmar
HM Jermane Miller 12 A.I. DuPont
Jacob Macey 12 Smyrna DH
1st Hunter Chambers 11 Dover
Second Base 2nd Alex Hudson 9 Tower HIll
1st Jackson Dorsey 12 DMA HM Clint Bertollo 11 Delcastle
Solomon Abdullah 12 Conrad
2nd Jack Pope 11 Concord
HM Shawn Roy 10 Wm. Penn 1st Brady Fox 11 Sanford
Connor Wilson 12 Smyrna Tim Tyler 11 Caravel
2nd Noah Burroughs 11 Sussex Central
Third Base HM Chase Fleming 12 Appoquinimink
1st Jaryn Sample 12 Sussex Tech Nathan Schurga 12 Conrad
2nd Drew Simpson 12 DMA
HM Ben Cordrey 12 Indian River
Assistant Coach of the Year
Jason Hughes 11 Friends Shayne Timmons Middletown
Coach of the Year
Player of the Year
Jamie Clark Sanford Tyler August 12 DMA




Share this Post