Milford mayor, 4 councilmembers up for election April 27

Katie KazimirGovernment, Headlines


The city of Milford will cast ballots in an April 27 election for the major and four counciilmembers. Photo by Delaware Municipal Electric Co.

The April 27 Milford elections will see two names on the ballot for mayor.

The deadline to file a city council or mayor nomination is Feb. 27.

Current Mayor Archie Campbell will be running against current Councilmember Todd Culotta of the second ward.

“He was the person who ran against me when I first ran for mayor,” Campbell said.

In Milford, the council is made up of two representatives from each of the four wards.

Council members serve two-year terms and  one councilman from each ward is up for re-election every year. 

As of Feb. 6, uncontested council members up for re-election are Michael J. Boyle of the 1st  ward, Andrew P. Fulton of the 2nd ward, Brian C. Baer of the 3rd ward.

Election filing

Apparently, Katrina E. Wilson of the 4th ward will have competition, if  she wants to continue her 30-year tenure on the council. 

Phillip Ruiz confirmed Tuesday that once he has all of the required signatures for his nomination he will be filing to run in the fourth ward.

Were he elected to council, Ruiz said he would bring to the table his ability to speak fluent Spanish, along with his goal for affordable housing and career-focused jobs.

“I want to be part of the growth in progress in the city,” Ruiz said.“I know it is going to take a lot of work.”

With the deadline still weeks away, there’s a possibility more nominees for the council seats will be on the ballot. 

“I’ve had people pick up ballots, but we don’t release their names until they officially file,” Milford City Clerk Teri Hudson said.

Milford residents 18 years and older must be registered to vote in the the state by March 28 to cast ballots in this year’s election. 

Non-resident property owners who are eligible to vote must have registered through Milford City Hall.

Eligible non-residents who own property in more than one ward must declare on or before 4:30 p.m. Feb. 27 the ward in which they wish to vote. 

Residents who need to register to vote must contact the Department of Elections – Sussex County Office at (302) 856-5367.

Registration can also be completed online.

Those wishing to vote by absentee ballot can be placed on a list by contacting Hudson at  (302) 422-6616, ext  1300 or 1142.


Share this Post